Lightning Never Strikes Twice

856d08d1-0e3f-4da7-82c7-439f10c27d5c
Bahman helping my mother reposition her legs.

We’ve all heard the old saying, ‘lightning never strikes the same place twice’. But the fact is, it does, and given enough time, it is actually inevitable.

My mom has been battling cancer on and off for the past 15 years. Her husband has been by her side and an amazing caretaker through it all. But this is not his first time caring for someone with terminal cancer. He lost his first wife, Peggy, to breast cancer 23 years ago.

How does someone cope with such great a loss? To lose love, partnership, and the mother of your child. How do you begin to try and heal, only to have to do it all over again?

I can’t even imagine what my step-dad is going through. As he was walking me to my car one night after visiting with them, he said, “You kids will be sad, but your life won’t change. My world will be upside down.” It broke my heart. I don’t want him to be alone. I don’t want him to feel alone, but he will be losing his partner of the past 20 years who he is with almost 24/7 now.

He has been caring for my mother with such love and devotion for the past few years, and no matter how exhausted he is, he says it is his honor to do this. He makes her fresh orange juice every morning, prepares home-cooked meals, helps put together her essential oil remedies, prays with her, bathes her. There’s really nothing he won’t do for her, because she is no longer able to do it for herself.

We are all so grateful my mom has him by her side. And we will all be by his side when my mom’s time has come.

We love you Bahman.

 

4 thoughts on “Lightning Never Strikes Twice

Leave a Reply

